Relax it’s the holidays

I could share a great side dish with you on today’s blog post, but I’d rather show you how I unwind, detox, and relax this holiday season. It can get pretty manic around this time of year — meal preps, holiday parties, gift shopping and in our household trying to determine who will host this year’s festivities.
You may know that I’m a reporter for a local newspaper and this time of year is VERY busy and stressful for me. I have deadlines and projects that must be done. So suffice it to say there’s few nights when I get adequate sleep and plenty more groggy mornings.

I’ve taken to bathing away my stresses. When I was pregnant I took baths all of the time because it eased my sore back, tired feet and most of all it made me feel relaxed afterward. It was my way of ridding my body of all the stress, sort of a detox.

Now don’t misunderstand, the body has a way of naturally detoxifying, specifically through the liver. The liver flushes toxins from the body, which eventually is expelled through urine or our bowels. But, we are subject to more and more toxins every day so why not do a little to help your body?

So here are a few recipes to detox your way to a little less stress, but first the benefits.

Detox bath benefits

  • Reduces stress
  • Relieves sore muscles
  • Flushes toxins
  • Relieves headaches
  • Improves sleep and concentration

Basic ingredients

Essential oil
Epsom salt
Baking soda
Popular ingredients are: Epsom salts, essential oils, milk, ground or fresh ginger, honey, green tea and apple cider vinegar.
keyingredients

baking soda, Epsom salt and essential oils are three of the basic ingredients in a detox bath, but certainly not the only ingredients. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

Directions

1. Draw a hot bath. As hot as you can take because you really want to sweat here. Fill the tub.
2. Add a few drops of essential oil. I really like lavender.
3. Pour in baking soda, immerse yourself and sit for at least 20 minutes.
4. Close your eyes and sit back. Maybe do a few deep breathing exercises
5. Rinse in a cold shower
6. Apply a natural moisturizer like shea butter or coconut oil

 

Important: Do not eat immediately before or after, but be sure to drink plenty of water before and after. Baking soda helps neutralize chemicals and aids in mineral absorption as well as softens the skin. Stand up slowly because you may feel drained or light-headed.
detoxrecipecard

epsom salt, baking soda and essential oil make for simple and relaxing detox bath. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

detoxrecipecard2

Add distilled vinegar, sea salt and ground ginger to a basic detox recipe. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

detoxrecipecard3

This detox is more of a hydrating bath, but the benefits are the same as a traditional detox bath. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

Let me know via the comments below if you’ve ever tried a detox bath or on facebook, instagram or twitter if you try one of these recipes. Share your own recipe below.

Leave a comment