Calgon Take Me Away

Work got you stressed? Kids running around like they lost their minds? House a wreck? Laundry to be done? The weekday can be overwhelming and with so many demands on your time sometimes you just need a day to yourself.

It’s been awhile since I just had some me time. Ladies (and men) you know what I’m talking about — that day or few hours, if you’re lucky, when it’s just you and your favorite movie or a glass of wine (in my case tea), a mani/pedi or a nap (yay for naps). It’s a chance to unwind, get your mind off your troubles and be in your quiet place.

My me time usually includes an at-home pampering session complete with a bubble bath, facial, manicure, pedicure or even a deep hair condition (there’s nothing like a good scalp massage even if you have to give it to yourself, honey).

So enough delay because as soon as I’m done writing this it’s about to go down.


1. Prepare. I like to prepare for my at-home pamper session by getting all the “ingredients” for what I’m about to do. My ingredients include a clay mask, bubble bath, nail polish, foot creams/lotions or oils, Epsom salt, music or a movie, candles and my drink of choice.

2. Pamper. I whip up a clay mask (while the bath is running), sip on my drink, prep my music or Netflix, turn the lights off and light my candles. I could soak for hours, but I usually get out when I’m almost asleep or wrinkled. Sometimes I scrub the feet or myself while in the tub or shave, but mostly I’m there to just soak.

3. Post. I’m always in such a good mood post pampering so I take the time for a manicure or pedicure.

It’s really that easy. But it wouldn’t be right if I didn’t share some trade secrets.


The mask I use is Aztec Indian Healing Clay. I got it from my sister. The directions recommend water or apple cider vinegar. I’ve tried both and prefer the texture and benefits of apple cider vinegar.

I’ve found that the mask itches a bit and my face pulses once it’s drying so my solution to that is to rub a thin layer of jojoba oil or olive oil on my face prior to applying the mask. Use any oil you like. Afterward I apply a facial serum and a moisturizing night cream, in this case, Dermasil.

After a deep cleansing clay mask I used a facial serum (olive oil based Squalane) and a creamy night time moisturizer (Dermasil).

After a deep cleansing clay mask I use a facial serum (olive oil based Squalane) and a creamy night time moisturizer (Dermasil).

Bubble bath doesn’t have to be expensive it just needs to feel luxurious. I recently concocted a bubble bath recipe that worked well for me. I used a cheapo shower/bath gel from Dollar Tree, added in one drop of lavender essential oil, a drop of vanilla extract, Epsom salt and a few squirts of castile soap.

A bubble bath can really be what you make it or you can simply sit in a warm bath with baking soda or throw in some scented baby oil. Now baking soda isn’t just to keep the fridge fresh. Did you know it can detoxify you and soften dry skin. It’s true. It’s chemical free, colorless and odorless.

Don’t want to pay for a clay mask then make your own with plain uncoated white aspirin (sorry Tylenol, Advil, Aleve). Yup. I said aspirin. (Now if you’re allergic you might want to test this on your arm or leg before applying to the face). Mix 4-6 aspirin in plain lukewarm water until it forms into a paste.

You can jazz it up by adding a dollop of honey, which will make it thicker, plain yogurt or aloe vera gel to soothe the skin. Apply, let dry, rinse off. Sidebar: Honey, especially raw, is very moisturizing, antibacterial and it has great antioxidants.

I typically start on my feet first because it’s quicker. If I haven’t been in a tub soaking then I soak my feet in Epsom salt (I use the scented kind) and essential oil (one drop will do), or Bath & Body Works True Blue Mega Mint Foot Soak (I’ve had it for years) or you can use the same bubble bath or shower gel that you used in the tub.

I scrub my feet with a foot file or a pumice stone and a bit of a Sally Hansen foot scrub or Bath & Body Works body scrub. I take the scrub all the way up to the calf.

Soak for about 15 minutes and pat dry. I spray my feet and calves with the Healing Garden cooling foot spray and slather on a heavy foot cream or lotion. I wipe off the excess lotion on the toe nails and begin painting, starting with my base coat. The nails take me a little longer because I let each coat dry for 5-10 minutes before applying the next.

Painting my nails and toes relaxes me.

Painting my nails and toes relaxes me.

I almost forgot about the spa water. My co-worker, Jeanie, made some at a recent gathering she had so I just wanted to try my hand at it. I literally just mixed a few chopped strawberries and thinly sliced lemon into a pitcher filled with filtered water. I let it “steep” for a few hours.

Liquids — tea, wine, “spa water” or whatever your drink of choice is, sip girl, sip.

Whether my drink of choice is "spa water" or hot tea, it just puts me at ease.

Whether my drink of choice is “spa water” or hot tea, it just puts me at ease.

So I’ve given you my tips and “trade secrets” on how to have a relaxing at-home spa day. Let me know if you try any or all of the tips or comment below with your favorite at-home spa routines. Use #walkerpamperme on your social media sites so I can find you.

Don’t forget to follow us on instagram, twitter and facebook.

2 thoughts on “Calgon Take Me Away

Leave a Reply

