May Beauty Obsessions

It never fails the end of month nears and I utter the words “I can’t believe it went by so fast.” A lot took place this month including the launch of this blog (yay). I hope that you’ve smiled while reading the posts and maybe found  a few of the tips helpful. We hope that you continue on this journey with us as we try to share honest, enjoyable content.

Each month I hope to share a list of go-to/must have items that somehow I wasn’t able to put down or couldn’t live without. These favorites will include beauty products, movies, books, music and more. First up is my all-time fav — lippies, Carmex to be specific.

  • Carmex. Oh how I love thee. I’ve been a fan since I was a child. When all of my friends were wearing makeup in middle school my mother only allowed Vaseline. Since it was my “lipstick” I would slather it on. I looked as if I’d been eating chicken. The shinier, the better. Then eventually I moved onto my first “pot” of Carmex and I’ve been hooked ever since. I’ve used other lip products including Bonne Bell’s Lip Smacker (6th grade) and Blistex and Soft Lips and regular old ChapStick. I’ve returned to Carmex time and time again. Over the years I’ve tried the different flavors, the stick form, the tube and the jars. I’m a simple kinda gal and I like the original flavor.
Carmex is my go-to for lip "moisturization."

Carmex is my go-to for lip “moisturization.”

  • Triple Lanolin lotion. I discovered this a few months ago, actually while in my first trimester and the “girls” were sore. I needed something moisturizing without being greasy and so I took to Google. I love the simplicity of the lotion because it doesn’t really have a fragrance and above all else, it’s not greasy? Did I mention it’s not greasy. If I’m going to slather lotion all over my chest then I don’t want to grease up my bed clothes. Now that I’m no longer in the sore boobies stage I still use the lotion all over in hopes of preventing stretch marks. I’ve heard pregnant women should moisturize and this works. My husband even uses it when he gets out of the shower.
Discovered Triple Lanolin when I needed a non-greasy, moisturizing lotion.

Discovered Triple Lanolin when I needed a non-greasy, moisturizing lotion.

  • Savannah Bee Company hand and nail salve. While on our honeymoon in Savannah, Ga. we went into a shop — Savannah Bee Company — that I thought just sold honey, boy was I wrong. The company sells honey, shampoo, body wash, soaps, body butters and lotions. The company was started by Ted Dennard, a beekeeper about 35 years ago. While at the store I zeroed in on the nail salve. It’s organic beeswax, olive oil and vitamin E oil. I gave it a try in the store and I was instantly in love. On most nights I massage a bit into my cuticles and the tips of my fingers. I like to take what’s left on the palms of my hands or what gets under my nails sometimes and rub it into my elbows or my feet. It’s really a great product.
Savannah Bee Company has made a great hand & nail salve. It can even be used on elbows and feet.

Savannah Bee Company has made a great hand & nail salve. It can even be used on elbows and feet.

Disclaimer: This post was not sponsored by any of the companies mentioned. I just genuinely like them (but if you’re reading Carmex, Triple Lanolin and Savannah Bee, let’s talk).

Have you tried any of these products or like other items from these companies, let me know below? As always I’d love to chat with you via facebook, instagram or twitter.

Leave a Reply

