Happy Father’s Day

Initially I asked the hubby if he’d like to try his hand at writing a blog post and he agreed, but yet here I am writing about Father’s Day. I don’t mind because it gives me an opportunity to tell him what I think of him as a father. He has a five-year-old son and we are expecting our first child — a girl, together. I should preface this by saying I already know what kind of father he’ll be because I’ve seen him with his son. I have no doubt he’ll be a great father to our daughter. So I’m going to break with a traditional post and write a letter to my husband.


 

To my husband on Father’s Day,

The saying that a father is a son’s first hero and a daughter’s first love truly is a precious sentiment. It’s what I know you are to “J” and what you’ll be for our daughter. There are a lot of men in this crazy world who haven’t quite got that all figured out.

Most little boys grow up watching and emulating their fathers. They may pretend to shave while dad is in the mirror or step into his shoes and walk around the house. In the beginning you are who they want to be when they grow up.

You are more than just a father, a hero or a daughter’s first love, but you are also their first teacher. You are the person who will teach J how to serve God, give a firm handshake, tie a neck tie, shave, keep his word, be a gentleman, respect others — especially women.

I love the way he sees you tying a tie on Sunday mornings, slipping into your shoes and suit and taking an active role in the church. He knows at an early age that the foundation of this family is built on Jesus Christ.

You set the example for children by serving God and taking an active role in the church. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

You set the example for children by serving God and taking an active role in the church.
https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

One of the things that a child never forgets is if you break a promise. However small or big they remember the day, the forgotten promise and most of all how they felt when it happened. I’m glad you are a man of your word. I’m happiest when the two of you can play a game or wrestle before bed because it’s what you told him you’d do.

I smile when he says “thank you daddy I knew you wouldn’t let me down.” Remember the day he said that? (5 year olds the surprising things that come out of their mouths).

I love even more when he sees us holding hands or cuddling or when you open the door for me,  or even when you walk on the outside of the sidewalk. It’s a tiny gesture with big impact. Maybe you do or don’t realize it, but you are teaching him how to be a gentleman. When people say chivalry is dead. I say it’s not true because my husband is a gentleman.

It's alright to show your children that you love, adore each other. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

It’s alright to show your children that you love, adore each other. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

Being a father is tough. You have to be tough. You are the one who will give that firm hand when needed. But you will also be as you have always been, of a gentle heart.

We don’t know what kind of personality this little one will have — will she be quiet and reserved like her father or talkative like her mother? Only God knows, but I do hope she has your kind heart.

No doubt, you’ll take our daughter on father-daughter dates, you’ll warn her about little boys who pull her hair, you’ll show her in the mirror what real beauty is, but most of all you’ll show her the type of man she deserves.

I'm enjoying the journey with you as we tackle parenthood together. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

I’m enjoying the journey with you as we tackle parenthood together. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

I know as we embark on parenthood together that you will be the firm hand at times that our children will need, but I know you will have a gentle heart always.

I love you with all that I’ve got.

Shavonne

Leave a Reply

