All I Need is a Fat Tomato

Nothing takes me back to my childhood more than tomatoes. Not just any tomatoes. The beefier and redder the better.
Plain and simple the fat, red ones made the best tomato sandwiches. It’s a southern staple.
When summertime hits I can’t wait to slice into that red goodness.
For me the best tomato sandwiches are the ones with few ingredients – light bread, Duke’s mayo (cause its gotta be Duke’s), onions, tomatoes and salt and pepper. That’s it. That’s all I need.

Nothing screams southern like Duke's Mayonnaise. It's all I use, especially on a juicy tomato sandwich.  https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

Nothing screams southern like Duke’s Mayonnaise. It’s all I use, especially on a juicy tomato sandwich.
https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

I have my own particular rituals if you will. If I’m slicing into a new tomato then the first slice is thin and near the butt and doesn’t go into the sandwich. I save it, top it with salt and pepper.

I always make a thin cut to the tomato to top with salt and pepper. The onions go on the bottom with lots of mayo. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

I always make a thin cut to the tomato to top with salt and pepper. The onions go on the bottom with lots of mayo.
https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

I slather (yes, slather) mayo on both slices of bread then layer on onions and then comes the star – tomatoes. They get salt and pepper and another coating of mayo.
I can hear the angels singing with that first bite. Aaaaahhhhh!
Trust me there is a method to the madness. Onions on the bread keeps the tomato juice from getting the bread soggy. Although sometimes I like when the bread is soggy and falls apart.
Mayo on the bread and on top of the tomato give the right amount of flavor and gives you a reason to wipe your mouth.
Onion breath is a risk I’m willing to take, besides that’s what Tic Tacs are for, right?
I’ve been eating these sandwiches since my mother introduced them to me. She’s been eating them since her father introduced them to her.

That first bite of a tomato sandwich is quite a heavenly experience for me. I absolutely love when the mayo and tomato combine to soak the bread.  https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

That first bite of a tomato sandwich is quite a heavenly experience for me. I absolutely love when the mayo and tomato combine to soak the bread.
https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

How great is the tomato sandwich — Google it and find the answer is well above 55 .7 million search results. There’s “how to build a better tomato sandwich,” creating a “broiled tomato sandwich,” and even triple stacked sandwiches, there is even an annual festival in the small town of Woodleaf (NC) that’s about 10 miles northwest of Salisbury.

Some people add garlic, butter, cheese, basil, some make it into a BLT (that’s bacon, lettuce, tomato for you who live under a rock) and some people even grill it. But I don’t want mine grilled or with cheese. I don’t want fancy bread or special seasonings. All I need is a fat tomato and the rest just falls into place. But if you fancy up your tomato sandwich, I’m not hating.

How do you enjoy your tomato sandwiches? Share your sandwiches and recipes with us via facebook, instagram, twitter.

Leave a Reply

