Broccoli, Potatoes and Jonas

When you are hunkered down because of a snowpocalypse aka Winter Storm Jonas there’s nothing better than a bowl of yummy soup. So since I knew the weather would be pretty bad I planned to try out a potato and broccoli recipe that I’d been eyeing on Yummly.

If you don’t know what Yummly is then you are definitely missing out. It’s a free site that is a collection of recipes all in one place. It’s sorta like Pinterest in that the pictures, in this case, recipes, take you to the original site. When you want to add a recipe to your collection it’s considered a yum. I’m new to the site and unlike Pinterest I haven’t gone ham yet and yummed thousands of recipes, but there is still time. I’ve downloaded the app and have over 160 yums. I use the app when I’m in the grocery store and have only a few minutes to come up with dinner. I search for food combinations or dishes or you can even type in random items like chicken, vegetables and cheese and lo and behold — recipes appear.

So I chose to re-create a broccoli and potato soup because honestly because I had most of the ingredients.
I took a page from Cooking Classy who had the original recipe. I took several liberties and made this recipe my own. And if you know me and know how I cook then you know I very rarely measure. So I’ve linked the original recipe from Cooking Classy’s Cheesy Vegetable Chowder.

But first… let me tell you what I did differently. The ingredients I used are mostly the same, but the amounts are different. Here is what I did and in honor of Winter Storm Jonas I’m calling it:

Jonas Broccoli Potato Soup

Ingredients

• 3 TBS butter

• 2 medium carrots peeled, chopped

• 2 stalks celery, chopped

• 1/2 cup onion

• 2 TBS minced garlic, jar

• 4 cups chicken broth

• 2 large russet potatoes, peeled and chopped

• 1/4 tsp dried thyme

• salt and pepper to taste

• 2 cups of milk (I used 2%)

• 1 TBS cornstarch with 1/4 cup of milk (I had no heavy cream)

• Campbell’s Broccoli Soup

• frozen broccoli pieces

Directions

I chopped all of the veggies. Sauteed the onions, celery and carrots in some butter and let it cook until the onions turned transparent. I added in my garlic and stirred some more.

I chopped some celery, carrots, onions and potatoes for the base of my soup. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

I chopped some celery, carrots, onions and potatoes for the base of my soup.    https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

Slowly added the chicken broth, thyme, salt and pepper.

 

Stir all the ingredients together and let it boil. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

Stir all the ingredients together and let it boil.
                                    https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

Place a lid on it and bring the veggies to a boil for about 15 minutes. I added in my potatoes and broccoli at the same time and let it continue to boil. I then put in my version of heavy cream, which was whisked until thicker.

Add in the cream, cheese and give the soup a stir. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

Add in the cream, cheese and give the soup a stir. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

In a separate saucepan I mixed butter and flour, whisking until it became the consistency of mashed potatoes. I then added this roux to the pot as thickener. To give it a creamy texture I added the can of broccoli soup. I let it simmer and topped it with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese.

Soup's on: Enjoy with some crackers and a buttery yeast roll. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

Soup’s on: Enjoy with some crackers and a buttery yeast roll.
https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

What’s your favorite soup when it’s cold outside? Share your go-to recipes with me via instagram, twitter or facebook.

 

 

Leave a Reply

