Spring Cleaning: The Forgotten Clean Up

There’s so many ways to clean, products to use and lists about what to clean from the floor to the toilet. No matter how much I clean there’s always something I’ve forgotten. I’m probably not the only one who forgets those nooks and crannies throughout the house. I’d say the kitchen and bathroom are the two rooms in my house that have to be clean. In this post I’m focusing on the kitchen.

I mean think about it — the kitchen is where meals are prepared but it’s also where food is splattered on the wall, crumbs get swept under the rug, your husband washes the raw chicken on the counter.

Here’s my top 6 forgotten places to clean and how to clean them:

  • Top of the fridge. The top of our refrigerator holds party trays and of course some dust and nastiness. Honestly, I can’t remember the last time I dusted up there. The easiest way to clean it is to dust it with a microfiber cloth and use a second cloth with hot, soapy water to wipe it down. Need to clean it in a hurry then swipe it with a baby wipe and keep it movin.’
  • Walls or backsplash. No doubt you remembered to wipe down the counter, but what about the walls or backsplash? The wall nearest the trash can gets hit with all sorts food particles so give it a cleaning with a mix of one cup of warm water and half a cup of baking soda. Combine the cleaning solution into a bucket and give the painted walls or even wallpaper a wipe down. Don’t have time for a bucket and rag then put 1/2 cup of warm water, 1/4 cup of baking soda and a 1 teaspoon of Dawn dish detergent in a spray bottle.
  • Can opener. My husband always washes the manual can opener after he uses it. I never did, but it makes sense, right. You use your can opener to open tuna, canned vegetables and everything in between all the while spreading bacteria from can to can and back into your kitchen drawer. Simply wipe the blade with hot, soapy water or toss it in the dishwasher.
Just give the handle and blade a wipe off with hot, soapy water. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

Just give the handle and blade of your can opener a wipe off with hot, soapy water. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

  • Trash can. It’s the home of every imaginable nasty, dirty, stinky thing in the kitchen and for our family some dirty diapers. I clean our trash can with a mixture of white vinegar, Dawn dish soap and warm water. I estimate I clean the trash can every couple of weeks. But if you don’t want to go all natural I like Spic ‘n Span or Lysol wipes for a quick clean.
Here I've just taken a Lysol wipe and quickly wiped down the outside of the kitchen trash can. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

Here I’ve just taken a Lysol wipe and quickly cleaned the outside of the kitchen trash can.
https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

  • Baseboards. I use the dryer sheets that come straight out of the dryer or an unused one and wipe the dust and then use a Magic Eraser to wipe down the baseboards. Or in a pinch just use a Lysol wipe.
Here I used an unused dryer sheet to remove dust from my base boards. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

Here I used an unused dryer sheet to remove dust from my baseboards.
https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

  • Burner grates, under the stove top. This wasn’t easy to clean after grease and burnt food build-up but a paste of baking soda and vinegar did the trick to loosen up the grime. I did have to resort to a Brillo pad to get some of this off. Don’t forget to lift the stove and wipe underneath the grates.
Baking soda and vinegar loosened up this grime on the burner grate. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

Baking soda and vinegar loosened up this grime on the burner grate.
https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

*Bonus: The Brita Pitcher. Wash the pitcher in warm water with a mild dish detergent and wipe the lid in a solution of warm water and distilled vinegar.

What are some items in your kitchen that you neglect to clean, but that should really be cleaned? Leave them in the comments below or tweet me your cleaning tips using #walkerspringclean so I can find it.

Leave a Reply

