Mommy Review: Lysol Multipurpose, toilet cleaner

I was in my in my favorite store — the Dollar Tree when I came across these two amazing finds. First off I must confess I’m in this store a couple times a week (sometimes more than a couple) and there’s the usual merchandise but every now and then I score a little DT treasure. This was one of those times.
I was in need of cleaning supplies and found this Lysol Tap Top Multipurpose Cleaner. Why was this a score? I’m glad you asked because it retails for anywhere from $4.59 to $6. This was a total blessing. I bought two mostly out of skepticism. I wasn’t sure if I would like this product. It turns out I do. This is actually a genius item.
I bought this Lysol Tap Top cleaner at the Dollar Tree. I tried it and like it. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

I bought this Lysol Tap Top cleaner at the Dollar Tree. I tried it and like it.
https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

Lysol Tap Top

It’s been around since early 2015 so I’m late to the party. I don’t hear or see it advertised much anymore, at least not where I live. You just twist and press your sponge or cloth on top. Let’s get right down to it.

Pros
  • Easy to use
  • Smells great and lasts
  • Cleans and disinfects
Cons
  • Slightly caustic
  • Must use separate applicator
So my pros first are simple. It’s really easy. It smells great to me. Sort of powdery but definitely fresh and clean. The smell lasted about 2 and a half days, which is about how often I wipe down the sink, toilet and tub. You know it disinfects because um hello it’s Lysol. Who wants a cleaner that just spreads scent without any cleaning power?
My major con is this product is slightly caustic. What I mean is after I used it (to clean the bathroom and kitchen sinks and the toilet) my hands were dry and peeled a bit. I didn’t use gloves but I would definitely recommend you do. My hands for a couple of days looked as though I had touched a hot burner. They were white like a “burn” for a lack of a better word. I had to really moisturize for several days after. Now that said I’m not sure if it wrecked my hands because of the strength of the product or because I cleaned so much. Now I always use a rubber glove.
The Lysol Tap Top cleaner is easy to use. Just twist the cap and press a cloth on top. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

The Lysol Tap Top cleaner is easy to use. Just twist the cap and press a cloth on top.
https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

Unlike my Lysol wipes that I swear by you have to use a sponge, rag, or in my case, a reusable cleaning cloth. The wipes are easy because the product is already infused.
This is not a deal breaker though since you don’t have to actually spray any cleaner or pour any onto a cloth. Overall I give this a 4.5 stars out of 5.

Lysol Click Gel

The second product that I instantly liked was the Lysol Click Gel, which essentially didn’t require a whole of effort on my part.
I bought these Lysol Click Gels from the Dollar Tree and they make keeping the toilet clean pretty effortless. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

I bought these Lysol Click Gels from the Dollar Tree and they make keeping the toilet clean pretty effortless.
https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

Pros
  • Effortless cleaner
  • Long lasting
  • Fresh scent
 Cons
  • Price
I don’t particularly care for cleaning the toilet, which I clean every 2-3 days. So the fact that the inside of the bowl has remained fairly clean is a bonus in my book. I still wipe the outside of the toilet every 2-3 days.
According to Lysol’s website, a 4-pack should last a month, which means each gel should last about a week. Mine is going strong at a week, is still intact and still smells great with every flush.
I paid $1 for each individually wrapped gel but if bought in the store it comes in a 4-pack that retails for $2.88 (at the low end). I bought 4. You do the math. Not really a great savings but I would not have found this product if I had not been at DT.
The directions for the Lysol Click Gel are simple. 1. Remove applicator from wrapping. 2. Remove protective seal. 3. Press applicator to underside of toilet. 4. Flush. https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

The directions for the Lysol Click Gel are simple. 1. Remove applicator from wrapping. 2. Remove protective seal. 3. Press applicator to underside of toilet. 4. Flush.
https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

The smell isn’t off-putting. It’s just clean. The scent is similar to the Tap Top. I give it 5 stars because I can’t control the price. It’s the Dollar Tree.
Overall as a busy mama I found these two products to be genuinely good and they will remain as part of my cleaning arsenal.
If you’ve tried either of these let me know your thoughts on them in the comments below or share with me via Twitter or Instagram.

Note: This is not a sponsored post. I bought both items with my own cheddar, but Lysol if you’re reading this, let’s talk.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

