I’m a Mom…What’s Your Superpower

This September our daughter will be two and my hubby and I will be married for three years. As a new mom and new wife I’m still learning to balance work, family church and all the little in between things that can suck up your time.

I recently attended my first ever women’s conference at Ridgecrest in Black Mountain, North Carolina where the theme was Super Women. It was three days of absolute empowerment. I learned so much about myself and who I am as a Christian woman, a mother and friend.

Some of the workshop sessions were about discovering your kryptonite, using the word to tap into power, and unleashing the superpower within. I heard so many wonderful testimonies from other women who have really overcome some situations that would cripple non-superwomen.

I recently attended a women’s conference at Ridge Crest in Black Mountain, NC. It was awesome.
https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

So before the conference I was starting to feel that I was failing as a wife, a working mom and sister. I was trying to be the perfect wife, the perfect mommy, perfect matron of honor that I thought my sister needed me to be. As mothers, as women we have a tendency to want everything to be perfect and it’s just an unrealistic expectation.

I think I have this mentality that “I don’t want to seem like I can’t manage the household, be a good wife, take care of baby girl, help get my sister down the aisle, do church work, and maintain all of the responsibilities at the job in which I get paid to focus on work.”

If I’m honest with myself, like most moms we don’t want to admit that sometimes we just can’t get it all done today. Sometimes there are days that require a lot of juggling just to accomplish a fraction of your massive to-do list.

But as a busy moms we have to remember that we are capable of thriving in may facets of our lives.

Instead of focusing on what I wasn’t accomplishing, I began to look at what all I had accomplished. My child was healthy, happy, fed and clothed. My husband had a home cooked meal 6 nights out of the week (shoot even Jesus Christ rested on the 7th day).

So I only got through with 4 stories that day at work instead of 6 (If you don’t know I’m a reporter for a daily newspaper). Ok I only drank 4 glasses of water and I ate chocolate before dinner. Ok I left dishes in the sink, but at least my family ate a great meal.

We as women put a lot of pressure on ourselves to be supermom more than anyone ever expects us to be.

I’ve come to realize that I manage to get a lot done before most people arrive for work.

Look at all I’ve managed to accomplish.

So I say to any mother who is doubting her abilities and questioning whether she is doing a good job — you are a good mother. If someone says oh you’re a mom as if it’s a bad thing look them straight in the eye and say: I’m a mom what’s your superpower?

I’m a Supermom….What’s your superpower?
https://thehousethatwalkerbuilt.wordpress.com/

If you’re a supermom I want to hear about it. Share your stories of being a superwoman or knowing a superwoman in the comments below or share a superwoman photo via instagram or twitter or facebook.

Leave a comment